Historic Zoar Village logo

Zoar Store - 1833

Virtual Tour > Zoar Store

The Zoar Store was built in 1833 at the southwest corner of Main and Second Streets.

The Zoar Store served as business headquarters for the Society, the Post Office, and a store.

The Zoarites had no money of their own with which to make purchases in the early days of the Society. Instead, the articles they manufactured and made in their homes were sold, including supplies for farmers in the surrounding territory and for the hired help.

There is a deep basement in the Zoar Store, and an addition at the rear of the building served as a dairy. Extra milk was churned into butter for use in the hotel and homes.

The Zoar Store was restored by the Ohio History Connection, and is currently operated by ZCA. It now serves as an information center and large gift shop, offering primitive items, unique gifts, and Zoar souvenirs and publications for sale.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter